Wow what a Christmas get together. So many Christmas parties involve going to a venue dancing and eating and drinking the night away, well that's not for us we did something a little different. Me, Hayley,  Sam, Dominic and my student Naomi went ice skating. What a giggle. Putting the boots on was just the start of it, they felt so strange and quite uncomfortable but we got them on. Next we had to stand up in them, not sure how that was going to work out, I was certain I was gong to have my first fall of the day. We made it we all got up and managed to walk, just, to the ice. Yes we hadn't actually got to the ice at this stage and was worrying bout falling! Ok we got there to the rink edge now for that first step onto that slippery stuff. Now I don't know about you but I have trouble staying n my feet when the ground is icy to have shoes on that are designed to help you glide elegantly across the icy was sure to be a recipe for disaster. One step two step and whoooops nearly, just caught hold of the side of the barrier in time, still on my feet that's good. Now everyone is laughing, including me, so hard I can't actually move, the tears are rolling down my face and my sides are starting to ache. Right come on compose yourself you can do this. Holding onto the side I get all the way to the end well nearly, the end was sectioned off for a birthday party. Now , its a one way system on the ice and everyone has to go across the full width of the rink. The horror there is no way I'm gong to do that. Oh yes there is. With Sams' help I get all the way across. All the others I must say are very impressive they are letting go and skating off  by themselves really well, putting me to shame. I get back to the point we first get onto the ice and work my way along the edge again daring to let go. The others go ahead, I have an idea I get off and walk along to the starting point again hey I can pretend I went all the way round, no-one will know surely. Twice I did this and no I didn't get away with it the others spotted me both times. Right this time I'm going to do it, I get to the point I have to go across. Tentatively, wobbly and very much representative of Bambi I get all the way across staying on my feet. Well confidence growing I work my way round letting go more and more and even going round people instead of waiting for them to move out of my way. Right second time of crossing on my own, doing ok, oh no spoke too soon, wobbly, wobble bump I land not so gracefully on my behind. The funniest thing was Dominic, Hayley and Naomi all heard me shout. Naomi turned to see if I was ok, Hayley kept going, concentrating on getting to the other side and Dominic turned and nearly ended up n the ice with me. Next problem how was I going to get up? I had visions of crawling to the edge and pulling my self up. This was going to be embarrassing. I wasn't so bad, I got up and managed to get to the other side. I now know how a baby feels taking their first steps. Ok we go round a few more times and we are all getting better each time. We stop for a drink them decide to give it another go. I nearly manage to get all the way round without holding on. We had such a laugh and all said they enjoyed it. We finished our Christmas do by having lunch at Nandos before going back home.
Busy day today, managed to tick two off the list. Tonight sees me doing some voluntary stuff. It's not quite what I had in mind as the free time I had didn't match up with the times needed by local charities. Still, doing the Santa walk with the Banbury Round table in conjunction with the local school was great fun even if it was a little wet. We saw some amazing houses decorated but this one beats the lot. A couple had created a santa grotto on their front lawn. I just had to sit on Santas' lap. It turned out they had 22 grandchildren, bet Christmas is fun in their house.

COMPLETED
  1. Host a cocktail party where everyone brings the ingredients for their favourite cocktail.  26/1/13
  2. Have a cocktail made and named after me. 26/1/13
  3. Go to at least one charity bingo nights. 26/4/13
  4. Adventure day at somewhere like go ape.  30/4/13
  5. Send an individual message to every friend I have on Facebook. 22/2/13
  6. Visit a town in England I have never been to before. 9/3/13
  7. Go to the races. 23/6/13
  8. Do a charity moonlight walk or similar. 29/6/13
  9. Create my own web page. 
  10. Plant a tree. 8/4/13
  11.  Read all three 50 shades of grey books. 30/6/13
  12. Give a talk to a group. 25/4/13
  13. Take out life insurance. february 2013
  14. Buy something to eat and drink for a homeless person rather than passing them by. 23/2/13
  15.  Spend a weekend in the country with my husband. 8-10/3/13
  16.  Try sailing. 6/5/13
  17.  Go horse riding. 30/3/13
  18. Register with the organ donor bank. 8/2/13
  19.  knit baby hats for local maternity unit. delivered 25/5/13
  20. Have a girly day doing girly things. 26/5/13
  21.  Get a mention on tv or radio. 8/7/13
  22. Write a Blog of my 50 for 50.
  23. Contact a friend not seen for over 25yrs
  24. Go to a Shakespeare play
  25. Do something on impulse
  26. Left to my family and friends to shock, surprise and/or entice me!!!!!! 28/8/13
  27. Go and watch a real football match. 31/8/13
  28. Go to a music festival. 23/8/13
  29. Visit all the squares on the monopoly board. 21/9/13
  30. Visit the natural history and war museums in London. 20/9/12
  31. Eat at a restaurant owned by a top chef. 21/9/13
  32. Have a professional photoshoot done 29/9/13
  33. Go to Banbury canal day 6/10/13
  34. take dance lessons 16/10/13
  35. Do the circular walk 20/10/13
  36. Create a calendar style calendar 21/10/13 (published)
  37. have something published 21/10/13
  38. See the local Christmas light switch on 24/11/13
  39. Give blood. 5/12/13
  40. Decorate a room in my house and have it 100% complete.13/12/13
  41. Have a go at a winter sport like ski-ing . 15/12/13
  42. Volunteer at Katherine House Hospic 15/12/13
  43. Go to Hyde park winter wonderland. 7/12/13
IN PROGRESS
  1. Choose a cookery book and cook every recipe in it. 
  2. Save all my 1p and 2p coins for a year and give to charity
  3. Have my make up professionally applied and then learn to do it myself 
  4. Trace my family tree. 
  5. Take a photo of myself every day and create a time line of it. 
  6. Visit Brugge Christmas ice sculptures festival. 


 
STILL TO ORGANISE
  1. Work in a professional kitchen for a day. 



Leave a Reply.