Picture
What's the definition of friendship? I suppose it depends on your opinion but one that seems to get passed about is so relevant to what happened to us this weekend and the completion of another task that I'm happy to go with it. It's often said that it is not the amount of time you spend with each other or the amount of contact in any form but the fact that when you do get together you can pick -up right where you left off. I have only felt like this with a few people and I believe its a true sign of a special connection that will remain no matter how much time passes. This weekend saw Andrew and I meet up with a couple we hadn't seen for 7 years. Yes that's right 7 years and the only contact we have had is through facebook over the last couple of  years or so. We met Maggie, Roy, James and Jessica on 

  holiday in Crete in  in August 2006. and as a lot of people on holiday do, exchanged addresses and promised to keep in touch. We kind of didn't do too well in making that happen after we returned home and as Roy is in the services we lost track of where they were. That was until we, and in that I mean Maggie, found me on facebook. She followed my progress on my 50 for 50 challenge and when she posted some pictures of the ice sculptures in Brugge I thought they would be a lovely addition to my list of tasks. Maggie kindly offered to put us up if we decided to go and the rest as they say is history. Arrangements were made dates and travel plans booked and on December the 27th we set off to Belgium.
We were hoping to get to Calais in day light but a delay in the trains meant that wasn't going to be possible. Apparently a whole load of coaches turned up at the same time with flexi-passes. For those who don't know how the Channel tunnel works, these flexi-passes means you can turn up any time and you then get on to the next train ahead of anyone else. Great idea I suppose but when loads of coaches turn up at once as they did in this case it pushes every one else back including those who have pre-booked tickets. The boards were showing 75 minute delays at one stage. This didn't bode well. I was secretly wondering if this was going to turn out to be a disaster. They manage to catch up a little, about half an hour but we were still running quite late. We let Maggie and our boys know so no-one would worry and sat back as the train pulled away and took us under the Channel away from England and on to France. 35 minutes that's all it took, unbelievable really when you think of how long it would have taken when they only way was to sail across. We got to Calais, it was dark and we had never driven round there before. Sat Navs' were useless as the only ones we have as a family didn't cover Europe so we were relying on AA driving directions down loaded from the internet and me trying to read them with no or very little street lighting. After a couple of hours we got to the area we needed to be, now for the bit that is notoriously the most difficult part of any journey you do for the first time and that was to find the house. We turned into a road and the directions said make a U turn! odd I know but that's what it said. They only thing we could see was a kind of central reservation down the middle of the road which meant you need to go back  yourself to get up the other side so that's what we did. Next it said to turn immediately right so we did this too. Now the only problem was we couldn't see any road names or house numbers so we parked up and decided to call Maggie. My phone went off with a text message before I could ring her. It was Maggie so I rang her back and after the initial hellos passed the phone to Andrew and she passed hers to Roy. they chatted and then the funniest thing happened. I heard Roy ask if we were in a  silver car and a front door opened. Believe it or not we had stopped right outside their house. I jumped out the car and gave Maggie a big hug, it was just as though we had seen each other regularly over the years. We laughed and chatted and enjoyed a wonderful meal Maggie had prepared for us before heading off to bed. Our room was lovely Maggie had put towels out , chocolates and guest toiletries on the bed for us it was more like a hotel than some-ones home. The warm greeting and attention to detail was amazing and put pay to the nerves both Maggie and I confessed to having at meeting up after such a long time. 
Next morning and we were treated to a banquet of a breakfast. Cereals and full continental, I'm sure Maggie has missed her vocation in life, She should be running a b&b or hotel. Fully replenished and we set off for Brugge to see the ice sculptures. Now your probably wondering why I wanted to do this after seeing the winter wonderland in Hyde Park? No, well I'm going to tell you anyway. This year has seen me try and experience lots of new things, some as I've explained before were to push me outside my comfort zone, some to make me get up and do things instead or procrastinating and others were simply for enjoyment. This one was a bit of a mix, yes we took Dylan to see the ice sculptures in London but to do some thing like go abroad for a weekend seemed quite extravagant to me and not the sort of thing I would normally do. This was to do some thing that made me get up and act on a wish rather than sit and talk about it. It had the added bonus of meeting up with people you meet on holiday and keep a promise to keep in touch. 
So off to the ice sculptures. The attention to detail was amazing, the use of ice in its opaque form as well as its clear was a sight to behold. Every turn you took made you gasp at the intricate work that went into creating such beautiful pieces of art. The photos probably don't do them justice but at least you get an idea of what I'm talking about. My advice to you all is to go and see them for yourselves you won't be disappointed.  We followed the sculptures with a wander round Brugge to soak up the atmosphere and  culture. I loved it, Not sure if the Christmas lights had a lot to do with it but I so enjoyed the tour round the best chocolate shops around and trying the free tasters!. 
Right now time to head back and get ready to eat out. Maggie and Roy take us to their favourite restaurant. The concept is one I've never come across before but a great one and very novel. Its mainly steaks but you can have chicken or mixed grill. Their mixed grill is three skewers, one chicken, one pork and one beef. The unique thing its it comes on a large platter that contains an extremely hot brick. No I haven't gone mad and yes did say brick. The idea is you cook your own meet at your table on these extremely hot bricks. It was great fun and lets face it if your steak isn't cooked just as you like it you only have yourself to blame. The meal was lovely, we all came away feeling very full and very satisfied. Back home and time for a quick cuppa or liquer coffee. the men head off to bed and Maggie and I sit and natter the night away until we realise it's twenty to three in the morning. We turn in for the night. 
Sunday morning and we are offered a huge breakfast again but just have croissants and choc  au pain. It's time we must leave, the weekend has gone all too quick but its has been so worth it. Our hosts have been wonderful, opening their home to what must have felt like almost complete strangers. We really loved our time there and sincerely hope it isn't another 7 years before we meet up again. If it is I'm sure it will not matter because if this weekend is anything to go by it won't feel like 7 years. Thank you Maggie and Roy xxx.



Leave a Reply.